Why I’d like to give Ellen Page a smack in the face or: I’ve now seen Juno twice and I’m voting no.

If there’s one thing I hate in popular culture (and the worship thereof) it’s hypocrisy. Mainly, I hate when a movie, band, TV show, etc. starts out small and underappreciated and then grows in popularity only to have its hardcore fan base that loved it in its beginning leave when it ceases to be exclusive. These are the worst kind of pretentious asshole hipsters. You know who you are.

Now I was really looking forward to seeing Juno. I saw the previews and thought, “Oh how cute. Mott the Hoople and the Moldy Peaches together. Grand.” I even liked Ellen Page in Hard Candy and have an unhealthy attraction to Michael Cera. (Even though he’s of age he still looks sixteen.) And so, I was there in line for the midnight showing of Juno along with every other tragically unhip 16-26 year old in my measly excuse for a city.

And I kind of liked it. Or I can at least appreciate that it was a pretty good movie. But there was something a little off about it; something just a little wrong. It struck me that, of course, no sixteen year old is that cool. That’s how twentysomethings like to think they were when they were sixteen but come on, who are you trying to kid? Even when I think back to high school to that theater geek who had his nose in a Kurt Vonnegut book, he was still less than punk as fuck. But fine. It was just a movie and I put it aside.

Then it got nominated for an Academy Award. Alongside No Country For Old Men and There Will Be Blood: arguably the two best movies of this decade. Now, of course the Oscars are a load of horseshit but there should be some semblance of propriety. That was around the time the Juno worship began.

And then the Juno HATE began. Now I only had a problem with this because of what I mentioned in the beginning of this now long-ass rant. I hate when people abandon something cool just because it becomes popular. And I thought that Juno, unlike a movie like Garden State, didn’t deserved to be completely shit upon.

Then I read an Ellen Page interview in Entertainment Weekly.

What was I doing reading Entertainment Weekly? Hey, we all have our guilty pleasures. Don’t look at me like that.

~ by atypicalsnowman on February 8, 2008.

One Response to “Why I’d like to give Ellen Page a smack in the face or: I’ve now seen Juno twice and I’m voting no.”

  1. I STILL haven’t seen Juno. I was hoping to see it and then respond but honestly who knows when I will get to see it. Tried a few weeks ago but it had already left my local theatre. My netfix queue is huge but its been added and will get moved to the top as soon as its released. Until then I give you this…

    “You still want to buy Orca a present even after he tried to eat you?”

Leave a Reply

 
