Can I Give Pulitzers to People I Think Are Cool Too?

Wants eleven dollar bills

So the Pulitzer Prize committee deigned to give Bob Dylan a Special Citation for his “profound impact on popular music and American culture, marked by lyrical compositions of extraordinary poetic power.”

Which is neat; he totally deserves it. This is coming from a child of the eighties who was first introduced to Bob Dylan while sneaking downstairs when everyone was asleep and going through Dad’s record collection (and even then it was his greatest hits). Despite what Dylan claims, he was the voice of his generation. And he continues to make an impact on American pop culture.

But seriously…

You know that the committee is full of people who are about Dylan’s age who worshipped the man during his heyday. I can just see it now.

Bunch of old white guys sitting in a smoke filled room listening to “Dark Eyes.” One guy says, “You know, I’ve always wanted to meet Dylan.”

Then one by one they all get this look in their eye. The decision is made without even a discussion and they all hurry to make a press release.

I’m sure that’s not how it happened but these thoughts cross my mind whenever I read about things like this.

Edit: If I could, I’d give the Pulitzer to Salinger, just on the chance that it’d drag him away from exile on his ranch in Vermont. He’s the only “celebrity” I’d like to meet, ever. And let’s face it: it would probably be a huge disappointment.

~ by atypicalsnowman on April 8, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
