It’s Hard But It’s Harder To Ignore It.

So my baby brother John left for Dallas this morning much to the chagrin of my parents. He’s going to be working for the Texas EPA doing good work and helping all the furry things that live here.

He and my father are going through a bit of a rough patch. Neither can get the other to understand the hows and whys of what’s going and neither are budging an inch. My dad left home when he was eighteen and never looked back but I guess he was hoping my brother would stick around the way his girls did.

Not that we like it.

Anyway, all this of course reminds both of us of “Father and Son” by Cat Stevens. The song is about the conflict that every person goes through with their parents as they grow up. Or at least any person worth talking to. Hands down, my favorite Cat Stevens song and my favorite song about growing up and realizing your parents are mere mortals.

~ by atypicalsnowman on May 12, 2008.

2 Responses to “It’s Hard But It’s Harder To Ignore It.”

  1. This is such a sad post. 😦 Anyhow, I wish the best of luck to John and I love that photo of him!

  2. makes me remember my transition to adulthood. My dad and I were very close until I reached my teenage years. Never been close since, 30 years later. I just hope I can learn from that to adjust my expectations when my son goes through it.

Leave a Reply

 
