Ah, Fuck.

George Carlin is a crazy fucker.

George Carlin died today.  I found out on Twitter by TweetJeebus who reported to have seen Carlin pass by the pearly gates.  This surprised TweetJeebus quite a bit.

George Carlin was a counterculture icon but by the time I could appreciate him, he was a staple to the comedy world.  I remember first hearing “The Seven Dirty Words You Can’t Say On Television” in high school and laughing my ass off.  I remember hearing about how “pro-life is anti-woman” and falling a little in love.

But I never thought that Carlin was a sensationalist.  I’ve heard that said about him, first from my parents then from others as I grew up. Carlin may have liked the spotlight but that didn’t mean he lacked a point.  He took his obscenity case (F.C.C. v. Pacifica Foundation) all the way to the Supreme Court.  

Carlin didn’t believe in God or humanity.  His main point in life was that humanity would be ending soon and that no one would miss us when we were gone.  All the most sacred things were absolutely nothing to him.  There wasn’t any topic too sore for him to tackle.  He hated religion and championed a woman’s right to choose.  And he didn’t care what anyone thought.  This was even more obvious in his later years.

The last time I saw him was in “The Aristocrats” and he was giving his version of the joke.  If you haven’t seen it, go buy it now.  Carlin’s the first comedian in front of the camera and his corn-gargling is grade A.

This is one of my favorite little stand up bits from him.  I was shocked and a little too surprised to hear about George Carlin’s death but it’s never good hearing that someone so great is gone.  My friend Andy said to me, “I guess this is when you know you’re older, when everyone you love just dies.”

~ by atypicalsnowman on June 23, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
