Sheba is Arabic for Death Defying.

Or Hebrew or Siamese.  Wikipedia is very vague on the linguistics of the word.  A more personal post.

I have a Siamese cat named Sheba.  She’s incredibly lazy, like every other cat I’ve ever had the misfortune to meet.  She’s kind of a bitch.  She’s always greedy and picky and begs horribly.  Even when she’s asking for food, she somehow lets you know that she owns you and not the other way around.  And she struts around the house as though her name is on the mortgage and we’re all just so very lucky that she allows us to live in her overly large litter box.

She also follows me around all day and all night.  During the winter she keeps my bed nice, warm and toasty for me so when I get in it’s not cold.  She warms my feet at night by sitting her massive, fluffy body on them.  She talks all the time.  Whether I want her to or not.  And anyone who thinks that cats can’t talk, then sit in a room with Sheba for a while and watch as your vague feelings of disbelief melt away.  She’ll berate you for feeding her ten seconds too late.

She’s been a part of my family since my fourteen birthday, for the last twelve years.  On Friday while playing (bothering) her, I noticed a large lump on her stomach that had never been there before.

This morning I took her to the vet who felt the lump and knew immediately that Sheba has what many older female cats acquire at this stage in their life:  mammary cancer.  Apparently she needs emergency surgery and the first available slot is in eleven days.  So we’re living on medicine, hope, sheer moxie and an “how dare you even insinuate I could be mortal” attitude.

My friend Mouse, in a lovely attempt to cheer me up, reminded me that Sheba is more than likely like my mother who’s laughed in Death’s face several times now.  “She’ll find a way to miracle herself into living forever.”  I’ll settle for another decade.

Update:  Sheba’s surgery has been moved up to tomorrow, Tuesday.  Yeah, emergency, my ass.

~ by atypicalsnowman on July 7, 2008.

2 Responses to “Sheba is Arabic for Death Defying.”

  1. I love that graphic at the top of the post and also glad your cat is doing better. Can you tell I’m not really a cat person?

  2. they can’t say they love animal’s no matter how old a pet is should be looked after its not like we put our grandads down just because they past a certain age

Leave a Reply

 
