On Tuesday Night, Hillary Clinton was my Hero.

She was a regular knight in shining pants suit.

Unfortunately, I was working last night and had to beg and bribe people to let me watch the convention on one of our two little TVs.  I saw only a few minutes of Hillary’s speech but I did manage to hear her, “No way, no how, no McCain.”  

She was my hero last night.  I said to the few people watching with me, “They’re going to quote her on that,” and sure enough, I came home to find that line as a CNN headline.

Seeing her speech in full was lovely; she mentioned Barack Obama by name several times and made it very clear where she stood on the issue of who her candidate was.

Of course, if now she could only convince that handful of vengeful Clinton supporters who make up groups like PUMA (Party Unity My Ass) and DemocratsforMcCain.com.  

Really, John McCain has wrapped up the spiteful, angry Clinton supporter vote.  While I can understand disillusionment and anger, the current attitude of these few Clinton supporters (who are giving the rest of them a bad name, I might add.  This is not an anti-Clinton supporter post) is chlidish to the extreme.  Watching interviews and reading articles regarding some of these people is slightly reminicent of the kid who didn’t want to play anymore after he lost the game on the playground.

These people aren’t truly Democrats.  I remember standing in line at a Clinton rally earlier in the year and talking to a woman who told me that if Hillary didn’t win, she’d vote for Republican for the first time in her life.  I told her that if she would vote for a man who wanted to continue a Bush presidency, that she wasn’t truly a Democrat and that spite had no place in the Democratic process.  She walked away after that.  I felt kinda bad cause she was easily about thirty years older than me, but really, what did she expect?  For me to smile and nod?  The few of you who know what I look like know I can’t pull that off at all.

I doubt very much that Hillary’s speech changed any of these people’s minds.  Really, it’s not her fault or her responsibility, though I did like her acknowledgment of it, “Were you in this campaign just for me?”  It was concise and to the point and let everyone know exactly who she was speaking to.

Regardless, I am happy that I will be able to listen to Joe Biden’s speech in full tonight.  I’ll sit with my bowl full of popcorn and be happy to join the party.

~ by atypicalsnowman on August 27, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
