Live-Tweeting the Debates.

I was incredibly glad that I was able to watch the debates on Friday night, beer perched precariously on knee while live-tweeting.  I was joined by my cousin Miranda, who seemed to luck out a bit and was also able to join the fun on twitter, sadly sans alcohol.

**********

Getting ready for the Debate Drinking Game. Anyone else playing? 06:31 PM September 26, 2008 from web

@influxx Drink when McCain says “my friends” or contradicts himself twice in one sentence and Obama says “change” or “hope.” 06:37 PM September 26, 2008 from web in reply to influxx

Apparently there are official rules: Drinking game: #obamashot every time he says “change” and #mccainshot every time he says “my friends.” 07:27 PM September 26, 2008 from Election 2008

RT @samhendricks Nationwide drinking game tonight: #obamashot waterfall your beer until Obama finishes commending McCain for his service. 07:33 PM September 26, 2008 from Election 2008

So really has the debate just become an excuse to get drunk? I’ve never drunk tweeted before, this should be fun. 07:40 PM September 26, 2008 from Election 2008

Alright, here we go. I’d just like to say I love Lehrer’s tie. @richhumofair John is still en-route so it’s just me and my mom and a beer. 08:02 PM September 26, 2008 from web

‘Oversight’ is the key word here. Oh, and he comes out swinging on the 8 years of Bush economic policies. 08:06 PM September 26, 2008 from web

Question: Is anyone else reminded of that footage of the Nixon/Kennedy debate while watching these two? 08:08 PM September 26, 2008 from web

Lehrer demanding they answer the question is pure class. We should have made #mainstreet shot. 08:10 PM September 26, 2008 from web

Thank God, some levity. Awkward, passive aggressive levity, but levity all the same. 08:12 PM September 26, 2008 from web

@richhumofair Haha, yes, but I meant more like cool, smooth, up and coming senator versus sweaty old guy. But yes, there is the date. 08:14 PM September 26, 2008 from web in reply to richhumofair

@richhumofair Okay. I declare a #mainstreet shot and while we’re at it #earmarks shot. Everyone throw one back. 08:17 PM September 26, 2008 from web in reply to richhumofair

Oh snap. McCain: maybe billions of dollars isn’t a lot of money to Obama. Also: take a shot when @atypicalsnowman says “oh snap.” 08:19 PM September 26, 2008 from web

@influxx Yes. Totally. Also, a shot when McCain’s tie tries to hypnotize you. 08:24 PM September 26, 2008 from web in reply to influxx

Those quiet moments when Obama looks down, he’s talking with Jesus telepathically. 08:20 PM September 26, 2008 from web

Thank God, Obama’s finally going on attack a bit on the tax breaks. McCain’s stuttering looks ridiculous. 08:26 PM September 26, 2008 from web

McCain is getting more little snide jokes in. “It’s hard to reach across the aisle when you’re that far to the left.” Sounds too scripted. 08:29 PM September 26, 2008 from web

“Problem with a spending freeze is you’re using a hatchet when you should use a scalpel.”– point to Obama. 08:33 PM September 26, 2008 from web

Oh my God. McCain calling himself a maverick. You can’t call yourself a maverick. That’s like calling yourself cool.  It negates it. 08:39 PM September 26, 2008 from web

Oh snap. “John, you were wrong.” Over and over again. If the audience, could, they’d be both applauding and booing. 08:45 PM September 26, 2008 from web

Did Obama just say “kill Bin Laden?” Damn… Obama needs to step it up, McCain is trying to walk all over him. 08:49 PM September 26, 2008 from web

Obama just said the word that dares not speak its name: Pakistan. 08:52 PM September 26, 2008 from web

Oh my God. Did you see McCain’s death glare at the ‘bomb Iran’ reference? 08:57 PM September 26, 2008 from web

Obama: I have a bracelet too. No solider dies in vain. Thank you, Senator. 09:01 PM September 26, 2008 from web

@roadgoer “Bracelet” statements like that need to be addressed because they make Democrats seem like they’re not patriotic. 09:10 PM September 26, 2008 from web in reply to roadgoer

Since when is Kissinger’s name something to invoke in a debate? 09:16 PM September 26, 2008 from web

They’re going to call MCain on that Ossetia comment very soon. 09:22 PM September 26, 2008 from web

Wow, McCain didn’t reference being a POW till the very end. Must be some kind of record. 09:37 PM September 26, 2008 from web

God I hate talking politics with my parents. My mother actually said, “That last part sounded like Obama hates America.” 09:41 PM September 26, 2008 from web

Bugged me that McCain never called him “Barack” the way he called him “John.” That last remark was great. “That’s where my name comes from.” 09:46 PM September 26, 2008 from web

@richhumofair I just told my mother that McCain not wearing an American flag pin means he hates Jesus. John laughed, she didn’t. 09:50 PM September 26, 2008 from web in reply to richhumofair

Oh, did I miss the beginning of an urban legend? I listened to the feed but can’t tell if McCain says “horseshit” or not. about 23 hours ago from Election 2008

Great related tweets:

Slate:  “Senator, let me just make a point: I’ve got a bracelet too.” And mine’s sparkly! 

While most of the polls show the debate going to Obama, I think it was a tie.  I think Obama allowed McCain to steamroll him while McCain was rude and standoffish, which is never a good characteristic in a debate.  Remember Nixon?  Either way, I don’t think the debate resolved anything in the minds of undecided voters and have to admit to being nervous about the VP debates.  You know that’s not going to end well for either of them.

~ by atypicalsnowman on September 28, 2008.

One Response to “Live-Tweeting the Debates.”

  1. Are you going to live tweet the debate tonight? I’m not even going to watch it but just wondering. Tell me who to vote for again please?

Leave a Reply

 
